Architecture Scope

The scope of the Regional ITS Architecture can be described in terms of: 1) the size of the region and jurisdictions covered (geographic scope), 2) the planning or time horizon, and 3) the variety of transportation services that are covered. This scope is defined in the context of adjacent and overlapping Regional ITS Architectures.


The Thurston Regional ITS Architecture contains existing and planned Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) systems for the Thurston Region.  

This architecture will help guide local coordination of transportation technologies by showing whether or not transportation technologies between and among agencies communicate and work together.

Time Frame

10 years

Geographic Scope

The Thurston Regional ITS Architecture emcompasses the geographical boundary of Thurston County, which includes cities, towns, tribes, and other pertinent jurisdictictions and agencies operating in Thurston County. 

Other relevant ITS and ITS Architectures include Puget Sound Region ITS (, the Vancouver (WA) Area ITS Architecture (, the Benton Franklin ITS Architecture (, Whatcom Regional ITS ( and the Spokane Region ITS Architecture ( 

The Washington State Department of Transportation also has ITS Operations (, an ITS Plan (, and ITS research (

Service Scope

This architecture focuses on the region's major transportation technology services including Traffic Management, Public Transportation, Maintenance and Construction, Public Safety, Weather, Parking Management, and others.